top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKatie Lewis

50 Articles, an Incoming Election and FSPA Results!


As I've said before in earlier reflections, my goal is to publish 100 articles inThe Raider Voice by the end of senior year; with my most recent article about the music department (published on Oct. 15), I am now officially halfway there! Since the purpose of this blog is for me to keep a record of my progress, I thought that this was an important thing to note. Of course, there is still a long way to go, but I prioritize quality over quantity, especially as Editor-in-Chief.


Onto the next subject: something that has been pressing everyone's minds lately, the 2020 presidential election next week. My staff and I are doing a lot in response to this special time in our country's history. For one, we have already published numerous politics-related opinion articles, and this week we will publish a side-by-side op-ed from two students about their reasons for supporting each of the main two candidates. Additionally, we are jumping on organizing a school-wide election simulation on National Election Day, which will be conducted through email to accommodate the students attending school online. I think that hosting the election and announcing the results on our website would be a great way to increase our engagement!


Finally, yesterday we received the results of the FSPA Fall Media Contest. I was super happy with the results, especially since so many people on staff received awards. I received an Excellent for my "narrative feature" about the antiracism discussion group, and an Excellent for my and Sabrina Bierman's "multimedia feature" day-in-the-life video. According to the feedback, the latter would have achieved an all-Florida if we had included interviews with the subjects. As to how to interview myself and make it work in a day-in-the-life video, I do not know. Either way, I am very satisfied with the results and am looking forward to doing even better in the next one!

1 view0 comments
bottom of page